Krog Rao

LEquipe a French sports journalist initiated the European Cup in the year of 1955. The event was formally called The European Cup and was renamed The UEFA Champions League throughout the 1992-1993 season. The competition is currently handled by the Union of European Football Association (UEFA). It is a seasonal opposition where 3-2 of the best groups from throughout Europe contend to become the best soccer club in the whole-of Europe. As it is now known the clubs compete to achieve the most coveted title in football, The European Champion Clubs Cup. The matches occur o-n Tuesdays and Wednesdays all around Europe. The winners with this competition be eligible for the International Cup, which is played against the winners of South Americas official group Copa Libertadores. Since that time they have won ten times to the league, real Madrid CF was the first team to win the European Cup. This consists of the five straight wins from 1955-1956 to 1959-1960.

So what's it that makes the match so special?

The leading domestic clubs of each European nation that are members of the UEFA are allowed to play the game. The only country not taking part in your competition continues to be Liechtenstein, as they do not have a domestic group.

The sport has advanced a lot since LEquipe caused it. He wanted to have an all-European club competition while the UEFAs creator members wanted to have an all-European national competition. In 1992-1993 not merely did the name of the tournament change, the way it was organized was also different. A preliminary group level was introduced in addition to the knockout matches, and a qualifying round was introduced. This is done to ensure that more groups from other countries of Europe could participate. The number of teams collaborating shot up from eight teams to thirty-two teams. Now, also groups that finish from second to fourth in the best domestic leagues will also be eligible to take part in the event. UEFA coefficient is the basis which the groups are ranked. This is done to have the number of sites in the competition for each relationship.

The match is split into stages:

The group stage: qualifying period.

The knockout stage: quarter, 2nd round, semi and the finals.

The team phase contains ten groups each comprising of four teams. In the group levels the teams have to qualify against three other teams to make it to the top of the group. The very first and second