about turkey

Turkey (Turkish Republic) is situated on two continents - Europe and Asia. The boundary between them passes through the Bosphorus, the Sea of ​​Marmara and the Dardanelles. Istanbul stands on both banks of the Bosphorus, it turns out, so the European and Asian city at the same time.

The main part of Turkey is in Asia - Asia is a minor, or Anatolia. Small European part of Turkey is called Thrace and Eastern Rumelia, and is only 3% of the country. The shores of Turkey are washed by four seas: the Black, Marmara, Aegean and Mediterranean. Turkey is bordered by land with the following countries: in Europe - with Bulgaria and Georgia, in Asia - with Syria, Iraq, Iran, Armenia, Georgia and the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic. The area of Turkey is more than 780 sq / km. The largest lake in Turkey - Van and Ace (both salty). The main rivers - the Euphrates, Tigris, Kızılırmak, Sakarya.