Alexis Metcalf

Daughter, sister, equestrian, competitor, and student each describe important aspects of my life and who I am.

Being born and raised in Georgia to parents who were born and raised in Georgia has given me some insight into a southern lifestyle. I was taught to say "Please" and "Thank you" at a very young age, I grew up going to church on Sunday's, and I learned that family is the thing in life that will always be there for me in the end. I am the oldest of my parent's two daughters at eighteen and my sister, Aren, at fourteen. Growing up, I was very fortunate to have two parents who wanted to be involved in my life, from reading to my kindergarten class, to being room parent, to helping me study for tests. My parents have always encouraged me to follow my dreams, whatever they may be. They have complete faith in me, even when I may not have faith in myself.

My sister and are extremely close, which made the college transition even more difficult. While we are different in several ways, I think that is what helps us to be more like best friends than sisters.

I became involved in cheer-leading and gymnastics around eight years old, and progressed fairly quickly. But I soon discovered, even at that early age, that it was not something that I truly had a passion for. Around the age of eleven, I took my first horseback riding lesson. Instantly I was hooked. After four months, my parents surprised me for Christmas with my first horse, Bud. He was four at the time, and did not have much training. We learned together. Two years later, we adopted a second horse for my sister, Shadow. She began to lose her desire to ride, which left Shadow in my care. He had some medical problems which left him more of a giant dog than a horse. Another two years passed and I was again surprised with a third horse, Cal. After seven years of riding, I have become responsible for three horses, two of which I ride and train myself. There is nothing else I would rather be doing with my life. Riding is everything I am and it has been the outlet I needed in my life. I currently compete at horse shows with Cal at least once a month. My plan for next year is to be able to compete with Bud again as well. Cal and I have accomplished so much in the past year, as Bud and I did in the past. Riding has given me the competitive edge I need not only in competitions, but in school as well.

I have always been incredibly driven when it comes to my studies, a value I can tha