Amy Farrow

Student and Artist in Oakland, California

Read my blog

I’m a 27 year old student at Mills College, majoring in Studio Art with a minor in Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies. I transferred to Mills a year ago from Palomar College in San Diego. While at Palomar I was the president of the Gender and Women’s Studies Club.

San Diego is where I was born and raised; I grew up in the suburbs in the northern part of the county. For those who know the city, I’m from Rancho Peñasquitos, which is nestled between Del Mar and Poway. Growing up I was able to frequently visit the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and all of the beautiful beaches along the coast. I have 3 amazing siblings: a brother who is 3 years younger than me to the day, a 15 year old sister, and a 7 year old sister.

This past year is the first I’ve ever lived in Oakland, but not my first time living in the Bay Area. I have lived in the Bay Area on and off since graduating high school in 2007; I have lived in San Francisco and Daly City.

Just in case it isn’t clear yet, I’ll state the obvious: feminism is something I am very passionate about. Alongside my formal education, I have been reading and blogging about feminist and queer theory since 2010. I originally intended to major in Women’s Studies, but have always taken art classes as well. It wasn’t until reading Nia King’s book, Queer and Trans Artists of Color, that I realized the importance and radical potential of making art and decided to switch majors.

When I’m not doing schoolwork, reading feminist theory, or making art, I like to listen to NPR, watch too much TV, practice witchcraft, drink a lot of coffee, take care of my plants, write in my journal, go on Tumblr, and hang out with my two best friends who live in San Francisco.

  • #painting
  • #feminism
  • #photography
  • Education
    • Mills College