Anna Tauras

Student, Volunteer, and Admin Assistant in Colorado Springs, Colorado

Support my charity

I am a “third culture kid”, and have benefited from a broadened world-view and development of interpersonal sensitivity to a variety of cultures, perspectives, and lifestyles. I was born in Calcutta to American parents and lived in Guatemala and Romania before the age of ten, repatriating at twelve years old. As a result, I don’t necessarily identify with a “home culture” - rather with the people I've collected along the way. These experiences have also informed my interest in third-world development, public service, and exploration of international career paths.

I entertain broad interests. My academic pursuits primarily include mechanical engineering and biophysics, but in an interdisciplinary sense, also span computer science, electrical engineering, materials science, and systems & control engineering. My current focus is to research and develop smarter, more accessible prosthetic and orthotic devices. Additionally, my interests in development includes physical augmentation technology and virtual reality physical interfacing for applications including therapy and education.

Aside from the aforementioned, I am also interested in futurology, emergent technologies, astrophysics, environmental science, geology, geophysics and natural resources, aerospace, horticulture, permaculture, philosophy, history & anthropology, economics, travel, literature & storytelling, creative writing, art, music, and much more!

As I am currently in the beginning stages of my education, my current skill set reflects my experience with communication, customer service, teamwork, small team management, writing, copy writing, editing, and tutoring in PC literacy. I am looking for opportunities to gain computer modeling, research, and hands-on problem solving experience in a laboratory environment.

My hobbies include playing with and training dogs, food forage hiking, camping, hobby/reverse engineering, perspective drawing, reading, interior design, cooking, day road trips, and exploring my environment.

Thank you for your interest!

  • Work
    • Pikes Peak Community College
  • Education
    • Pikes Peak Community College