Anthony Barfield

Anthony Barfield is an active chamber and orchestral musician. As a freelance trombonist, he has performed with numerous groups throughout the Northeast and has performed frequently in venues including Carnegie Hall, Avery Fisher Hall, Alice Tully Hall, and the Kennedy Center. Mr. Barfield is a Teaching Artist for Grammy-awardwinning producer Phil Ramone's Children's Orchestra and a member of the Black Pearl Chamber Orchestra in Philadelphia. He has performed with the, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Alabama Symphony, Mobile Symphony, and Park Avenue Chamber Symphony and alongside musicians such as Wycliffe Gordon. Mr. Barfield can be heard on recordings including Donnie McClurkin's We Are All One (Live), Demondrae Thurman's Soliloquies with the University Of Alabama Wind Ensemble, Lisa McClendon's Live at The House of Blues, Weston Sprott's Act I, and other commercial albums. Mr. Barfield quickly emerged as a composer upon his arrival to New York City. Recognized for his lyrical writing style, his compositions have been performed throughout the United States and Europe. Mr. Barfield's work for trombone choir, Reflections (ASCAP), was premiered at the 2008 Alessi Seminar in Fossano, Italy. Mr. Barfield has received commissions from trombonists including Joseph Alessi, Principal Trombonist of the New York Philharmonic and Steven Lange, Second Trombonist of the Boston Symphony; as well as the Manhattan School of Music Brass Orchestra and other ensembles. His new work for solo trombone and band, "Here We Rest", is scheduled for premiere at the 2012 New York Wind Band Festival in Carnegie Hall. He has written works for groups including the University of Scranton Singers, Baldwin Wind Symphony, and the Juilliard Trombone Choir. Mr. Barfield has studied composition with C.P. First, Avner Dorman, Thomas Cabaniss, and Nils Vigeland. Mr. Barfield holds degrees in trombone performance from the Juilliard School and Manhattan School of Music. Mr. Barfield's primary trombone instructors include Dan Drill, Jay Evans, Joseph Alessi, Per Brevig, and Michael Powell with additional studies with Demondrae Thurman and John Faieta.