The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, commonly abbreviated ASEAN (play /ˈɑːsi.ɑːn/ ah-see-ahn, rarely /ˈɑːzi.ɑːn/ ah-zee-ahn), is a geo-political and economic organization of ten countries located in Southeast Asia, which was formed on 8 August 1967 by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Since then, membership has expanded to include Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. Its aims include the acceleration of economic growth, social progress, cultural development among its members, the protection of regional peace and stability, and to provide opportunities for member countries to discuss differences peacefully.