Evert Kuiken

Solar Specialist in Amsterdam region

Evert Kuiken

Solar Specialist in Amsterdam region

View my portfolio

Hi! Welcome on this site about me. There is much more to tell than fits on this one-pager. So if you want to learn more, follow any of the links below, or just mail or call me.

I am married and we have two boys, born 1995 and 1997.

Since August 2023 I work at Solar Sedum as solar specialist. Here I can put to work my vast technical experience and spread my knowledge.

Before that I was responsible for quality, processes, project commissioning (with scope 12 inspections) and several innovative projects around the energy transition. I worked for grid operator Alliander as content management consultant, new world of work consultant, grid designer, grid protection engineer and grid operation system engineer.

I do voluntary work in my hometown Diemen for, amongst others, KlimaatRaad Diemen, Duurzaam Dorp Diemen: all to make my home town Diemen more sustainable. I started the monthly Repair Café and did repairs there. I used to write for Windnieuws, the Dutch bi-monthly paper magazine about wind energy in the Netherlands. In 2018 I got involved in biomass burning and together with an international group of people started the Federation against biomass plants. Spin-off of this is an air pollution measuring network I set up in Diemen using citizen science tools.

In my spare time I like to walk (our dog, but also longer walks), together with my wife. During summer holidays we like to explore Europe in a camper, using trains, busses, bikes, and if necessary, a hired car. No airplanes for me.

And I like to drive my motorcycle. Sometimes alone, sometime together with friends from the motorcycle group Kawazuki. After riding three Yamaha TR1 (XV1000) motorcycles I since 2014 own a BMW R 1200 RT. I bought it after being a Police vehicle with 100 k kilometers and converted it to a civil type with now 200 k kilometers. I became a route expert on MyRouteApp navigation in 2019.

And during all this I try to listen to music as much as possible and sometimes play my electric bass in a band. Mainly rock, but all sorts of music can inspire me.

I am vegan. And also in other ways I try to limit my use of resources as much as possible, reducing my footprint.

  • Work
    • Solar Sedum