Seattle, WA

My name is Emalie, my friends and family call me Em. I am a mother of one 14 yr old girl, a wife to one 7' tall 250lb husband, which makes us look like the circus since I'm not even 5' with my shoes on. Don't get me wrong, we are a good looking couple, but when we stand up people actually laugh out loud in public.

I am adapting to being a stay at home mom and wife after years of being a police officer. When I left I was a detective. I had made the mistake of defining myself as a cop for too long and now I am once again "finding" myself. The journey has been wonderful and painful at the same time.

I have ADHD. Yep, even the hyperactivity part. My sister says I'm like being around a cartoon. I don't know if that is an insult or not. I was finally treated for it only about 5 years ago. That changed my world. Before the medication and counseling the only thing that really helped was the strict structure of being a cop. I can't believe I didn't lose any tickets or anything else for that matter. I was totally in my element so I guess that's why I did so well. Not so much in the house all day. Idle fingers and all that. Boredom and I are NOT friends.

I decided to make jewelry one day a few years ago and I haven't stopped since. I find my own stones, agates mostly, polish and cut them. My specialty is wire wrapping, although every now and then I'll come up with something cool that doesn't involve wire wrapping.

I love to spend time with my daughter, she is amazing and so funny. I learn so much from her. I love to walk the beach for my stones, sometimes people ask me what I am doing and I assault them with my "rock" knowledge. It is actually pretty amusing. I still pick out "warrant wagon's" in my head, and call out random crimes I see on a daily basis. For the most part I have learned to wear my blinders.

My best friend is MJ. We have been best friends since we were 5 years old. We have never grown apart although we live in different states. Her parents took care of me while my mom worked. I spent my childhood with her family which helped shape my life. I learned so much from her parents, they will never know how much I love them.

MJ is more like a soul mate than a friend. I am so lucky.

This is just a part of me, as with all of us there is so much more. I hope I was able to give you a true glimpse of the real me.

  • Work
    • Mother, Wife, Jewelry Maker, former Detective
  • Education
    • A GED and a kick ass attitude, AA Criminal Justice