Jamal DZ Mullen

Morrisville, NC

Jamal DZ Mullen (about.me/jamal.mullen)

Peoples’ actions are their only true belongings. One cannot escape the consequences of their actions, because their actions are the ground on which they stand. Keeping this simple notion in mind has helped steer my journey through this brief time we are afforded on earth, while allowing me to make a difference in the lives of others.I can only hope to be able to continue along the same path.

I was born in Nigeria, Zaria a major city located in the northern part of the country on the western coast of the African continent. I was raised in the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina in the city of Asheville. My mother and father are both PhDs in political science having taught at the University of North Carolina at Asheville for 28 years. Because both my parents have been involved in academia for so long I was raised within the university, and have been exposed to all the benefits of this up bringing. The question within my family was never whether my siblings’ and I would go to college and beyond, but rather which university we would attend, and how far we would take our education?

I graduated from the University of North Carolina at Asheville with a degree in Political Science and a focus on minority studies, more specifically African American studies.I worked for two of the major criminal defense lawyers in Asheville NC for six years upon graduating. While doing this work I visited death row numerous times as well as many other prison facilities within North Carolina. I also frequented both federal and state courtrooms and am comfortable within the courtroom arena. Working on appeals and other motions, while working directly with clients are other tasks with which I have developed skills.

Currently I am enrolled in the public administration grad student program at North Carolina Central University. I am scheduled to graduate in December completing another fruitful chapter in my life.I have been active in university life and am currently treasurer f

  • Work
    • Macy's Men's Formal & Professional Student
  • Education
    • Grad Student P.A. Program