Dr. Scott Teitelbaum


Dr. Scott Teitelbaum is a trusted, Board Certified Addiction Medicine Specialist. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Psychology at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania and his Doctor of Medicine degree at Rochester University in New York. Continuing his postgraduate education, Dr. Teitelbaum attended the University of Connecticut where he completed both an internship and a residency in Pediatrics. At the end of his residency, Dr. Teitelbaum completed two Postdoctoral Fellowships in Addiction Medicine as well as a Fellowship in Child Psychiatry at the University of Florida.

Today, Dr. Scott Teitelbaum is the Vice Chair of the Department of Psychiatry and the Division Chief of Addiction Medicine at the University of Florida. He is also a Professor at the university, giving special lectures on topics such as pediatrics, physician impairment, human behavior, and addiction medicine. Over the course of his career, Dr. Teitelbaum has had the opportunity to consult with a variety of both health and other professionals. These consulting roles include working with:­

  • The White House Office of National Drug Control Policy­
  • The New York Yankees­
  • The Television Series 24­Hours­
  • The O’Reilly Factor­
  • The Florida Professionals Resource Network­
  • The Intervention Project for Nurses­
  • The National Football League

Dr. Scott Teitelbaum has also received numerous honors, awards and recognitions throughout his career which include the following:

2012 Butcher Award, Florida Medical Professional Group / Florida Society of Addiction Medicine

2010 Election into the Conway Hunter Society

2008 Academic Year 2007-08, Exemplary Teacher Award

2007 Academic Year 2006-07, Exemplary Teacher Award

2006 Academic Year 2005-06, Exemplary Teacher Award

2004 Presented with the William “Buck” Ruffin, MD Best Teacher Award

1988 Diplomate, American Academy of Pediatrics

1981 Phi Beta Kappa, Lehigh University

1981 Summa Cum Laude, Lehigh University

  • Education
    • Lehigh
    • University of Roches
    • University of Conne
    • University of Florid