Stacey A Day

Pension Actuary in Ellijay, Georgia

Stay at my place

I grew up in Clairton PA, a small steel mill town near Pittsburgh PA, and after college lived and worked in the Pittsburgh area until at age 32. Moved to Connecticut (1992), Memphis (1994), Dallas TX (1996) until finally finding Atlanta (2001). Married Rick at age 36 (my first marriage, his third); no children. Multiple dogs and supporter of Basset Hound Rescue of Georgia at bhrg.org..2 adult stepkids. B.S. in Applied Mathematics from Carnegie Mellon University.

Decades-long career as a pension actuary, with a unique mix of consulting, Big 4 and corporate experience. Worked for E&Y, PwC, Towers Watson and UPS.

Rick and I have embarked on many adventures, resulting in a vastly more interesting life than I ever imagined. Many great trips including motorcycle adventures to Hawaii and Nova Scotia, London, Paris, Amsterdam, Ireland and many stops around the U.S.

Plus business ventures including Spring4th Complex in Atlanta (entertainment complex including QUAD dance club and Spring4th Center, an event rental facility), Have Grill Will Travel bbq catering and concession, Dallas BBQ restaurant and catering, and seasonal TNT Fireworks store in Ellijay.

My favorite times in our business ventures were hosting many talented performers at Spring4th Center and QUAD. Favorites included:

>sponsoring a local run of Hedwig and the Angry Inch featuring an incredibly talented young cast,

>home of Chicago Joe's Rock and Blues Camp where middle and high school kids spent a week practicing together and performed on Friday evening for friends and family,

>performances by the Asylum Street Spankers; hosting arts and music shows featuring artist Alex Grey; incredible Halloweens and New Year's Eve at dance club QUAD...and there were many more.

In late 2014, we moved full-time to Ellijay GA, where we had a cabin for over 10 years. I am working on "re-inventing" how my life and career fit together long-term. Rick works for Phantom Fireworks, setting up their Georgia stores for July 2016.

Rick and I enjoy hosting people in our home via AirBnb, and we've also discovered the wonderful benefits of co-housing with long-term housemates.

I'm currently keeping busy with walking our dogs in the great outdoors and supporting Gilmer Arts and its new George Link, Jr. Gilmer Arts Playhouse. Also very busy working til mid March 2016 at a seasonal job (from my home), but on the lookout for my next career opportunity.

  • Education
    • Carnegie Mellon University